Choral Music Awards


Photo courtesy of Pablo Cardinale

Superintendent Bowers presents seniors Natalie Hwang, Anna Votaw and Valerie Weitz with awards for theater excellence

By Sai Sreenivasan, Observations Editor

Seniors Natalie Hwang, Anna Votaw and Valerie Weitz received theater excellence awards to recognize their commitment to theater through their high school career.

Drama teacher Naomi Ratz nominated these three seniors to honor their active participation and starring roles in past productions. Each student has had prominent roles: Votaw played Hedy LaRue in Little Shop of Horrors; Hwang played Hope Cladwell in Urinetown, and Weitz played Essie Carmichael in You Can’t Take it With You.

“I felt very proud about winning this award because it shows that all of my hard work and preparations for each of the shows I have been in have been extremely worth it,” Votaw said. “It was a great ending to my senior year.”